Tell Me Pastor tells Lesbian to find a “Christian” counselor

Another letter that on the face of it looks fabricated or edited to scratch appeared in today’s edition of the Star Newspaper, the letter writer supposedly is troubled by her alleged early lesbian interest.

Hinting to Reparative therapy of sorts even as the woman according to the letter’s wording suggests she feels right about being a lesbian yet conflicted at the same time, giving the appearance that she is seeking help, the nine year old exposure bit doesn’t seem truthful either as that in my estimation suggests paedohilia as homosexual activity in this country has been mistakenly linked to same sex paedophilia thus fueling the active homophobia we have seen over the years.

A nice trick in putting this letter together Star folks while having such a major contradiction in one sentence, we can see clearly the tricks these days and pull it apart easily as it is so predictable.

This is not the first time though pastor has suggested this kind of reparative therapy emphasizing a Christian counselor for the would be seeker of the intervention in a bid to “cure” them of their alleged deviant behaviour or thoughts without properly presenting the “letters” to the public and the proper sphere of the orientations or sexual variants of the supposed letter writers, yet the gentleman is supposed to be a trained psychologist.

Caan fool wi.

Have a read below of the letter and the pastor’s response:

I think I am a full lesbian ………………..

Dear Pastor,

I am 20 years old and have been living with a problem ever since I was nine years old. When I was a little girl I was introduced to a lesbian friend who eventually exposed me to the whole idea of being a lesbian.

Over the years I kept dating guys to get over my feelings for females, but dating men just does not seem to help.

Now I think I am a full lesbian. I have been dating girls and I seem to like the idea of being with women. Whenever I am around them I feel more relaxed and comfortable, even when having sex.

Please, pastor, I do not know what to do. I know it is wrong but I cannot help myself. It feels so right. Please give me your fatherly advice.

C.C., Manchester, Jamaica

Pastor’s response:

Dear C.C.,

The first paragraph of your letter is conformation of what most psychologists and psychiatrists have always maintained and that is in the main, homosexuality is something learned. You got involved with someone who was a lesbian. That person sexually molested you. Perhaps you were not even aware what this person was doing to you. But as a child, you probably felt that it was normal and you got hooked.

This woman messed up your mind. But as you grew up you found out that what you did then and what you are doing now is unnatural. That is what the Bible says. And as I talk about the Bible, I am aware that some people do not want to hear what the Bible says. They believe that if it feels good, nothing is wrong.

But the Bible says that it is unnatural for people of the same sex to make love.

I am glad that you feel for help. I want you to know that other women have been in similar positions and they received help and have turned away from this practice. Many have experienced spiritual transformation and as a result abandoned the practice and are truly walking with the Lord.

Therefore, I must encourage you to make an appointment to see a Christian family counsellor, psychologist or psychiatrist.

I am sure that if you go to sessions with an open mind, you will receive help. In the meantime, pray and ask God to help you and do not yield to the temptation of having sex with other women.

Pastor

See Also:
“Tell Me Pastor” shows clear ignorance & stereotyping of lesbians

Crying ga(y)me

Lesbian in love with a married woman

Tell Me Pastor “Foot in mouth again”

Aren’t christians supposed to be tolerant in their nature and walk with god??

Jamaicans hypocritical about gays? ….where does this pastor lives?

Pray and pray but still gay

Man and Man problems

Let The Gay Pay?

These entries listed above are just a sample of the steady stream of letters real or otherwise seem to have a steady streak in them, the letters look simple the point is always one of intolerance and biblical literalism.

Read them when you can and decide for yourselves please.

Peace and tolerance

H



Author: GLBTQ Jamaica Moderator

Activist and concerned gay man in Jamaica with over 19 years experience in advocacy and HIV/AIDS prevention work, LGBT DJ since 1996.

1 thought on “Tell Me Pastor tells Lesbian to find a “Christian” counselor”

Leave a Reply

