Love thy gay neighbour (Trinidad’s Newsday letter)

Newsday Logo

THE EDITOR:

I am a young man living in east Trinidad. I am hardworking, loving, and ever-striving to be the best human being I can be. I am an upstanding citizen of Trinidad and Tobago and I am gay.

It is my understanding that an evangelical group is visiting Trinidad and Tobago from October 22 to 29 with the intent of spreading “God’s word,” but in reality is spreading hate against homosexuals…against people like me.

I can’t believe in this day and age people still have such dangerous biases. The world has changed a lot since I was going to school where all kids would beat up the “gay boy,” and I thank God that we’ve evolved to the point where people can be respected, and such pointless violence is at a minimum.

Gay marriage is legal now in a lot of countries and we have come to accept homosexuals and bisexuals as part of society. We still have a long way to go, but now these people are trying to drag us backward into the dark ages.

I believe God intended his ministry to spread a message of love, respect for one’s fellow man, and respect for others, even if they are different. However, I believe that as a result of this group gays will be portrayed in a negative light, and will incite and brainwash those who try to be upstanding Christians into judging and hating people.

Gays will become a target for more radical action, and once again people like myself will be made to feel less than human, to feel wrong, to feel sinful.

Trinidad is plagued with violence and everyone is just looking for another reason to hurt someone.

“Love thy neighbour as thy self.”

Let us live in peace and Love, as Jesus showed us.

T JOSEPH

 

Author: GLBTQ Jamaica Moderator

Activist and concerned gay man in Jamaica with over 19 years experience in advocacy and HIV/AIDS prevention work, LGBT DJ since 1996.

1 thought on “Love thy gay neighbour (Trinidad’s Newsday letter)”

  1. I agree let’s live in love and peace.

    I have to say I also am hardworking, loving, and ever-striving to be the best human being I can be. I am an upstanding citizen of Trinidad and Tobago and I was a sinner. None of these things ever justified my sin.

    I became a christian.

    As such it is my duty to spread the gospel: all of it. I’m not going to compromise any part of It for anyone and I’m going to take It just as It is and trust and believe in God AS SHOULD ALL TRUE CHRISTIANS. So the scripture that says, “man shall not lie with man as he lieth with a woman” needs as much as translation as “thou shalt not kill” and is not meant to spread hate against you but to speak against sin not just one specific one but all sin. It speaks against lying, fornication, adultery, greed, anger, lust, envy etc. These things are all sins and can easily turn into the lifestyle of man, many live a life of sin. What God’s Word is simply trying to do is correct you from the wrong things you’re doing (sin) so that you’ll turn from your life of sin and join Him in a new righteous life, an eternal everlasting one.

    Love is also corrective. Jesus Christ loves us so He gave us His Word so that we may know the wrong from the right, what to do and what not to do FOR OUR OWN GOOD. It instructs us. I’ve got to say if the government for whatever insane reason wanted to legalize another sin of which is currently illegal in our country for say murder christians would most definitely lobby against that too. It’s not just homosexuality, we are against all sin. Yes Jesus wants us to spread a message of love and respect for man BUT NOT FOR HIS SINS. Also what good is a message of love and respect in christianity if you forsake the teaching of sins…..sin is what corrupts all humans, makes us sinful; it is what truly makes us hate and disrespect each other (this is the reason why trinidad is plagued with violence because we really and truly don’t love each other and respect each other as we preach to do). You have to get rid of it in order to get to the Father of whom is Real Love which is one of the main objectives of the Bible. Preaching love alone and not sin, all sin homosexuality included, defeats the purpose of the Bible and Christianity; as how can we have a righteous relationship with a sinless righteous God who has no part with sin and who hates it (not the sinner the sin) while we’re living an unrepented life of sin with no desire to change?

    So my friend Love is good but not all of which you perceive to be love is good. Jesus Christ is the standard. His Word is His standard and His Word is for all, will judge all and is for ALL TIMES. No matter how ‘modern’ this world may get. His Word is timeless and true.

    I do not hate you but my aim is also to love everyone as Jesus commanded.
    Love the sinner not the sin.
    Accept the sinner not the sin.

    Like

Leave a Reply

