Read these lettes and form your own opinion……

Two letters in one day suggesting some sort of reparative therapy from Psychologist, talks show host and Pastor Rev Aaron Dumas who operates the Tell Me Pastor clomun in the Star News, have a read of the two letters and see it they make sense of his responses are appropriate.

 

Pray and pray but still gay

Dear Pastor,
I am a 41-year-old man living in the USA. My parents are Jam-aican. I am gay. I pray to God about taking the feelings of loving a man away from me but it is not working.
I am going to hell

I went to church and I told the pastor there what I was going through. Instead of him trying to help me by praying with me or giving me some advice, he told me that I am going to hell. As far as I can see, the first step is admitting the problem that one has and try to get help, but I got turned away. As far as I know, all sins are spelt S-I-N and the Lord says that he who is without sin should cast the first stone. I don’t know, why me?

Killing myself

Why do I have to be going through this? To tell you the truth, I feel like killing myself, but I know that one cannot get forgiveness for killing one’s self. Sometimes I feel like I am the worst person in the world.

I told my mom and she told me that God still loves me and all I have to do is pray and trust God, but, pastor, I do pray and pray and pray. It has been 20 years, now and I am still gay and I still have feelings for men. I know that I am grown, but I do not know where to turn for help anymore.

This is slowly killing me. I have known that I like guys from I was in high school at the age of 15. I had to keep it to myself for a long time. I know that you don’t have an idea how hard it is to do something like that.

Why me, pastor? Why is it that I have to be gay? What can I do to stop these feelings. I don’t have a boyfriend, but I look at them and lust at them. Please give me some advice.

R.W., New York, USA

Pastor answers

Dear R.W.,

I suggest that you take a different approach. Try to find a Christian psychologist and ask him to help you work out this problem. You have struggled with this problem for years but I still believe that God can deliver you.

AND
Man-and-man problems
Dear Pastor,
I’m with a man who is selfish and don’t want me to do what I want to. I am in love with him although he is a man and I am a man. He has problems with me having my girlfriend and he doesn’t want me to be with anyone except him. I’m confused
.

I want to reach out to him, but I am afraid because he is too arrogant and that’s the reason why I am afraid to share things with him. He is crazy and I can’t do anything about it. Pastor, I am wild and I want to be with him and my girlfriend.

Please, tell me what to do. We have been through a lot, but I think that things can turn around and work for us. Tell me what to do. Pastor, tell me what to do.

P.A., St James, Jamaica

Pastor answers

Dear P.A,

The Bible says that a man should not have sexual relations with another man. The Bible condemns that type of lifestyle. If you have never seen that in the Bible, you may read Romans chapter one.

You seem to be proud of having a man as your lover but, I repeat, the Bible teaches that it is wrong. I believe the Bible.

Pastor

 

Admin – of note are the responses

Author: GLBTQ Jamaica Moderator

Activist and concerned gay man in Jamaica with over 19 years experience in advocacy and HIV/AIDS prevention work, LGBT DJ since 1996.

Leave a comment